top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Zuckerman

May 30th: Batik Workshop and Masonry Studios

To start the day for a nice change of pace, we went into a Batik workshop, to try and create our own Batik artwork. Batik art is a Malayan art form, as well Indian and Chinese, it has developed a lot among the different cultures. Since Singapore is a place where all these cultures exist together, Batik art has grown in popularity and is seeing a rise in fine art circles as well as for everyday use where it was originally used. Batik is the technique of dying cloth by using wax to block off areas of the cloth, controlling where the dye will go. This technique is used to make beautiful images and patterns, but for today we just had a small piece of cloth to try and make a simple image to see how the technique works.

I did a little goldfish in water, as shown below, and I learned very quickly that controlling the wax is a lot harder then it looks. my lines look a little wobbly, but even so I had so much fun creating the art that I didn't even care. I look at that little fish and I just get happy because I had such a great time just making art in a new and unique way. This is definitely something I would love to do again if I was ever given a chance!



Later that day we went to Masonry Studios, another motion house, but unlike the other one, this one focused more on 3D motion graphics, which is something I am extremely interested in learning myself. I loved to see how their studio approached their motion videos, they had an amazing reel, as well as a really cool video on how the work was made as they communicated with a client. That video gave really awesome insight on how they work with clients, and I enjoyed it greatly.





8 views0 comments
bottom of page