top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRachel Zuckerman

June 4th: FDZ School of Design & The Bureau

Today we visited one more art school, FZD School of Design, as well as our last two firms; The Bureau Design firm, and Genesis motion and animation house. The FZD Design school showed us their one year program to teach artists of different skill levels and backgrounds to learn how to make concept art for movies and video games. Through out the year their students go from learning the basics to tying up highly professional work to get them hired as concept artist. They showed us works from all the different levels from their students, and seeing how much some of them improved was awe inspiring for me. I have always loved the style of concept art and thought it was out of my reach, but seeing other students learning to make beautiful digital paintings has inspired me to try and work on paintings myself. I always wanted to improve my own art, and the best time to start that is now, and work on it bit by bit.


The Bureau was a Design firm focusing more on print design. The people there were very kind and walked us through some of their projects and the process behind it. The Designers at the Bureau believe in the powerful nature of tactile design, and that plays a big roll in their works, and even printed pieces have unique textures that make them stand out. My favorite design they showed us were two different packaging designs for a local company that makes moon cakes. The Designs were meant to take a geometric and new approach to drawing Chinese imagery, while being colorful and interesting. The Designs were really captivating and somehow strike a wonderful balance of looking like product design and a work of art at the same time. I definitely found some inspiration to take into my own work.




2 views0 comments
bottom of page